Simplified explaination of "Full Frame" Camera

Shelby68GT500

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Trying to grasp exactly what is different about a "Full Frame" DSLR camera from what I use. I've got a 50D that I really like (bought it used) and use with several Canon lenses that I've acquired over the years. Have a friend who has a Sony "Full Frame" DSLR that is 24Mp who rants and raves about it. It obviously has a higher resolution 24Mp versus 15Mp, but what other advantages does this camera hold? I doubt that I would change over to Sony as I love my existing Canon lenses. I'm sure that Canon would come out with a "Full Frame" camera as well at some point, if they don't already... Just not sure it would be beneficial for the price. I'm not a professional, but enjoy shooting a lot of wildlife (sometimes thru my 8" telescope), astronomy and normal daily life stuff...

The sensor is physically bigger. Longer, and taller. This has a variety of consequences:

- sometimes the high ISO performance is better (less noise, better pictures in darkness)
- the field of view with any given lens is wider
- shallower depth of field
- you may need to buy more expensive lenses (some lenses, generally cheaper ones, are only good on small, not full-frame, sensors)

Canon has more full frame cameras than Sony does... as does Nikon.

This really should be in a DSLR Forum.. not the Film forum! lol!

The 35mm format was a PITA commercially, because to fit any standard page layout you had to crop off one end. You had to always allow for the crop or put a viewfinder screen in that was already cropped. I am not so sure full frame is going to be such an advantage, unless it is wider as well.

I agree this discussion is better suited for the Digital Q&A, since the OP expressed interest in DSLR. Thread moved. :)

Digital Camera Sensor Sizes: How it Influences Your Photography