sky washout and saturation of colors with the Canon t3i

chris.paget

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've recently purchased a t3i, and have been using it while touring Japan this summer. I'm relatively new to DSLR photography and the operations of the camera. I've noticed that in many of the daytime outdoor pictures I've taken, there is little definition in the sky and that it basically appears very pale, bright, almost white. "Washed out" would maybe be the best term. It's almost as if the entire picture is a little too bright/washed out/exposed, including the buildings and landscapes (possibly due to the brightness of the sky?).

I have recently equipped a circular polarizing filter, but the problem continued on some pictures, although the skies were bluer and not overcast on this particular day (clouds being a common thing this time of year in Japan). Are there any adjustments I should make within the camera that might affect brightness or contrast? Would this be an issue with exposure time being too long? Or are there other filters/gear that might help?

Thanks!

Can you show us some examples?

My first guess, is that the scenes you are photographing, are simply exceeding the 'dynamic range' of the camera.
Digital cameras (and film as well) has what we call a dynamic range. This is the range of tones that it can record in a single exposure. So what is happening, is likely that your camera is giving you exposure settings that work well with the foreground/subject of your scene...but because the sky is so much brighter, it ends up looking washed out in the photo.
You could adjust the exposure settings so that the sky looks good, but then the foreground/subject would be very dark.
So as the photographer, it up to you to make a choice. What is the more important part of your photo? And what should the exposure be for that subject?