Snow shot help!

Defy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.nickandv.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok this has probably been beat to death on this forum but i would also like some help with fixing my photo. I am a total PS noob and have no photography skills so be gentle. How do i fix this photo? I mean like total idiots guide style.... (i have photoshop CS3, once i find a good deal on cs4 i will upgrade)

CheshSnow.jpg

Then after i fix it how do i take the shot right the First time?
Lastly how do i put all those cool borders on my pics with my website name?

Unfortunately, the firewall here at work is blocking your image, but judging by the title, I'm going to go out on a limb and guess a very over-exposed snow scene? Since I can't see it, I can't offer any "rescue" assistance, BUT, assuming I'm correct, then getting the exposure right really isn't all that difficult.

First, you need to understand that your meter is designed to read the light reflected off of an "average" surface. In photographic terms that's referred to as middle grey. So, your camera is "seeing" middle grey, even though the scene is bright white. This results in something between slightly over-exposed and totally blown snow.

How do we compensate? Easy. The secret's in your hand. Assuming you have average caucasian skin, then set your camera's meter to 'Spot' and exposure mode to 'Manual'; meter the palm of your hand and add one full stop. In other words, if your hand meters as 1/125 at f8, then you need to use 1/250 @ f11 (or any equivalent).

Thanks for your help i will go try! Anyone want to help with fixing the pic in ps?

fixed.jpg

Is this what you are looking for?