So this is my first try shooting people

DevC

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Advice on how to improve is appreciated (these are wayy too many in a set to critique each so i don't expect that)...or any general comments or anything....whatever :)

More learning and practice is the way to go for me from here...

I want to improve on my lighting and focusing definetly. I threw out many shots that had awful lighting.
Jamie 04 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr

Jamie 02 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr
Converted this one to simply BW and I liked the effect...but IDK...the model says it looks like it came out of A&F so i was like...eh
Jamie 02 BW by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr

Renee 01 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr
I do have a photo of her looking at me, but I felt a better feel of her looking away...infact here is a link to that one...
Renee 02 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr.

.Jamie 02 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr
and heres a final one or 2
Janeth 03 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr
Janeth 03 by Dev.Chatterjee, on Flickr

Some general thoughts: Avoid posing subjects (especially female) square to the camera. This is known as 'football shoulders' and is rarely the best look. 30 degrees to the camera, weight on the far leg, is always a good place to start.

Try and bring a reflector or flash into the equation to get a little light into the eyes. Many of these suffer from 'racoon eyes'.

Watch the cropping and avoid 'chopping' off bits of hands/fingers/arms/legs. If you must crop a limb, that's fine, but do it boldly and never at/near a joint, nor along the lateral axis.

The first image of the first girl has good composition, except for the burglar wires. The posing on first girl is too angular, straight on and her clothing is distracting. What did you do to piss off the 2nd girl? Bike image not too bad but too much head tilt. Last one is scary and another bad outfit. All in all, pretty good for the first time.