Some advice for portrait photos, please..

bambino

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all!

Im just a newbie. Will be getting my first DSLR camera soon (it will probably be either a Canon EOS XS or Canon EOS T1i).

I was told to get a fixed 50mm lens, which (I was told) it is very good to start at portrait pictures, given it allows for wide angle at 1.8

Well, that's all I know and before I go into the shop and get my camera and a 50mm lens, I would like to hear from you, what other lenses might be useful

Im doing this as a hobby, and I think photography will remain a hobby for me. But that doesn't mean it is not important for me!!

So, if you can give me some advice as to what lenses to buy (keep in mind Im somewhat in a budget, so please don't recommend me an "L" lens, they are too expensive for my limited income ;) )

Also, do you know a guide or tutorial for portrait pictures?

I appreciate your time!!

:mrgreen:

Good luck with your purchase. First off, using the 50mm at 1.8 doesn't give wide angles. 50mm is 50mm. If you want wider you have to go less than 50mm which you should also get an 18-55mm. It'll give you wide and some zoom which is great for an all purpose lens.

given it allows for wide angle at 1.8
It gives a wide aperture (pupil in lens), which is why it's a great lens. It does not give a wide angle view.

It should make a nice lens to get you started for shooting portraits. I would also suggest getting the camera with the typical 'kit' lens....the 18-55mm IS. It's not a great lens, but it's a good match for the camera and a good lens to get you started.

given it allows for wide angle at 1.8
It gives a wide aperture (pupil in lens), which is why it's a great lens. It does not give a wide angle view.

It should make a nice lens to get you started for shooting portraits. I would also suggest getting the camera with the typical 'kit' lens....the 18-55mm IS. It's not a great lens, but it's a good match for the camera and a good lens to get you started.