Sony a7s vs a7r

enerlevel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello all,
I have just sold my canon kit for Sony. I always wanted a full frame camera but smaller in size... And these Sony cameras are just the kind of stuff I always wanted. Now I shoot plenty of family pic, general get together group shots , everyday snaps etc... Nothing professional .. However I do shoot raw and then save them in my computer for memories (don't print). Many would say a normal digital camera is enough for me , but I used to be a wedding photographer once and all the high end gears have spoilt me... However I always pixel peep at 100% before saving my photos. Also most of my shots are taken in restaurants or night party or dark lit rooms therefore high ISO is number 1 on my list. I have zero interest in video.
Now for the kit... I have enough to money to either buy
Sony a7s with 28-70 kit lens. Or
Sony a7r with kit lens and 55mm f1.8
Which one of these would you buy ?
Thanks

If you worked as a wedding photog, you should know what lense is better suited for you for get together and restaurants and party shots. Why are you asking? I think the best advice will be the one you will give yourself.

I would buy a7s, no doubt. Few mpx in large sensor. That means no giant prints quality (but you said you don't print) and super ISO.
Everywhere I read, I read miracles of this camera at high ISO range. I've seen shots over 100.000 uso that are still perfectly usable. It will be mine, one day...

A7s hands down!
Its low light performance is legendary and while 12MP isn't much considering the benefit I would get the "S" in a heart beat.

thanks all for replying.
I am just a bit confused because what if I down sample the images of a7R to 10megapixel ? will that hide or mask the noise level ? plus all the post online makes the a7s look like it's made for video and not stills ...