Spruce Meadows

mwcfarms

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.deannachambers.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I happened to be in the right place, right time yesterday. Went to Spruce Meadows to take the kids to the park with my friend. She lives 3 minutes away and my childhood hero Ian miller happened to be competing. After I got over my childish glee I decided to try and take some pictures. This is my first attempt at trying to photograph moving subjects. Would love some feedback.

4758249932_2df87279ee_b.jpg

4758258510_0e5670f05a_b.jpg

I would love to have been able to get more of the second shot in focus. Any tips of shooting events like this is appreciated. Thanks.

Your shutter speeds are just on the margin on both of these. In the second shot you can see that the horse's rear hooves are showing motion blurring, since they are moving the fastest of anything in the picture. It appears that you are swinging the camera along with the horse, tracking its movements virtually perfectly,and that is keeping the main body of the horse sharp, but the backgrounds are showing the camera's panning movement, which gives a subtle sense of movement to non-moving objects; that subtle sense of movement can be perceived as blurriness or whatever, and might make some people feel a bit dizzy when looking at this type of picture for a long time.

On the second photo, you have most everything in focus, but the panning of the camerta that keeps the horse sharp is making the signage look blurred. We can see this panning blurring most on the sign that says Duncan Rxxxx or whatever--that's blurred, but the horse is kept mostly sharp.