Straight from the camera

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Tracy55, Jun 22, 2020.

1. Tracy55

Tracy55 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi am new. I've been teaching myself photography for around 9 months now I have been noticing so much more since carrying a camera. I've had discussions with people on facebook about editing photos, i prefer to keep my pictures as they come out of the camera no adding fake birds, sun, moon, adding colour or anything else or what is the point of seeing something you like then taking a picture but when you upload it to your computer you start editing the photo which then makes it fake. A lot of people disagree saying the editing is the best part. What are your thoughts I know this is a no editing site but I would be interested to know. Thanks xx

• Like Like x 1
  2. snowbear

snowbear Oh, hai. I iz bear. Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    You do realize that none of these things are new, that edits (major and minor) have been going on since photography was invented? That said, I will usually edit almost everything: tweak the exposure, crop, remove dust spots, straighten horizons, correct lens distortion, remove chromatic aberration, etc. it is very rare that I will remove or add an actual object.

I'm not sure where you heard this was a no-edit site.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mjcmt

mjcmt TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I myself restrict to a subtle editing to tweak a photo from original exposure and contrast, or for converting to a B&W image. I'm personally not into HDR photos w/ super enhanced colors, but some are . I like a more natural presentation, but everyone has their own opinion what looks best. It's all about your artistic view.

Last edited: Jun 22, 2020
    • Agree Agree x 3
  4. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Whatever floats your boat. Maximum or minimal editing, or somewhere in- between, it's all good.