Stumbling Blocks

abraxas

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What are the things that keep some very good photographers from becoming great photographers?

How can one avoid or overcome these obstacles?

-

What are the things that keep some very good photographers from becoming great photographers? Location Location Location

: Get up off your butt and move.....

Seriously my location blows and I can't afford to move :(

The absence of time.

The absence of a creative community with whom to interact - to discuss, to display, to critique, from whom to be challenged and with whom to ultimately grow.

The absence of a creative community with whom to interact - to discuss, to display, to critique, from whom to be challenged and with whom to ultimately grow.

I often think about the French impressionists. It's been many years since I studied their interactions, but it seems they for the most part fit in to what you describe.

I've recently joined a local group, frankly I don't see it coming to much at this point, but I have to see faces (I think). The internet is too damn big, but there are a few photographers that make small parts of it worthwhile.

Battou,

You have a valid point also. I can't do landscapes in my office. I got to get some air.

Think of almost any great photographer and you'll think, almost without exception, of a particular genre of pictures. Penn: unusual portraiture. Cartier-Brisson: 'street' photography. Adams: landscapes. Arbus: the 'horror' lurking behind everyday reality. Weegee: front-page news with a dash of vinegar. Ylla, Karsh and Leibovitz can readily be added to the list along with many more, in each case conjuring immediately their own special imprint.