Subject too dark?

MlHazim

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm very new in the DSLR world, I've always loved photography and i got some amazing shots with my point and shoot cameras or my iPhone's camera and thought i should improve my skills and get a DSLR. only yesterday i received my brand new Nikon D5200 with the 18-55mm Kit and out of excitement i went out to try the camera and practice to improve my skills and understanding of photography.

here's how it went. i was on a roof in Dubai looking at the beautiful city lights and tall towers, i wanted to focus on a wall in the roof on a very small area of the frame and use a low aperture around 4.0 to get the lights in the background "the towers and city lights" to be blurry as i believe they would have looked great. i used a relatively high shutter speed around 1 second to get more light in as the wall was a bit dark and a higher ISO around 3000 because it was night time and again, wall is dark. i put it in M Mode and i try to focus and shoot but the camera won't shoot! (Subject is too dark) it keeps saying and it'll not shoot.

another scenario was taking a picture of a specific building that i believe looks beautiful, what settings should i use when shooting a building? what should i focus on? there are trees around it, parking and so many objects, should i focus on one of those? but then would the building still be sharp? should i use a higher aperture? F16 maybe? please advice.

i know it's my mistake not the camera's but i hope someone around here can help me out and tell me how to take such a photo in this kind of situation so i can understand this more and improve my skills as I'm still learning.

Thank you, and awaiting your replies :D

Last edited:
The camera probably didn't fire because it could not obtain focus confirmation, not anything to do with exposure. If it was too dark, it would simply record a very dark image.