Super-Wide Lens Advice

LiveStrong2009

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As Christmas approaches, I am considering a new lens for myself. For my uses, a super-wide angle lens would be incredibly handy. I am considering a couple options.

Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 HSM which is around 600 dollars

or

Tamron 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 for around 400 dollars

I have had no experience with any lenses aside from Canon, but for the price of these compared to the most similar Canon lens... I just cannot justify it.

I am also open to other brands, Tokina is another that I did see on adorama, which is still in the running. The two I posted are top on my list. I guess I like the pricepoint of the Tamron, but the same max aperture of the Sigma.

Any thoughts? Reviews? Suggestions on which one you might pick and why...

Thanks!

No experience with the Tamron, but I have the Sigma. I use it probably 70 to 80% of the time. I think, personally, the constant apeture of the Sigma makes it worth the extra cost, especially if you plan to use it much. It's easily my favorite lens.

I am going to take a guess and say that I will be using this lens about the same percentage that you do. Followed by my 50mm and then the zooms.

Landscapes are my most common photos, followed by interior architectural shots. Well, my hobby of urban exploration is dependent upon the photography. Without photographing these awesome places, the appeal of entering some of them just is not as great.

Thanks for the advice, that lens is surely the one I would prefer. Really I guess price vs quality is really what I need to narrow down.

Tokina 11-16 2.8 is in the same price range as the 10-20 3.5, but it doesn't have an internal focus motor. It's pretty much THE wide angle lense to get, unless you're going name brand (nikon, canon, etc)

My Christmas lense is going to be the 10-20, but not the 3.5 .. going to stick with the $479 4.5 version.