Switching to Digital?

boarderjosh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been using Nikon 35mm equipment for over 20 years and am now going to make the switch to digital. My question is that if I have been using high end nikons with high end nikor lenses will I notice an improvement switching to digital SLRs. I have been looking at the Nikon D70s and the D200. Which one should I buy and will I be kicking myself in 2 months for buying the D70s instead of the D200?

-thank you

The main reason I can see for going digital is workflow. From what I've seen, film still beats or at least equals digital for most quantified measurments (low light ability, resolving power, dynamic range, etc.). What is your reason for switching and what do you hope to get out of it?

Mark asked the correct questions. I absolutely love digital over film and there are many advantages. If you are expecting an improvement in picture quality compared to film, however, you will be disappointed.

If you just meant how much improvement in one digital camera over another, Steve's Digicams very likely has sample pics from both. You might want to see what you are willing to settle for in terms of quality. If you save some sample pics from each camera to a folder on your computer you can print them as well for further comparison.

Just remember that Steve's pics are "as is' from the camera and judicious editing can improve them quite a bit including sharpening them some. This is extremely easy with digital.

Maybe you are going through the mid life photography crisis. (I have)
Why do we read so often someone making an either/or decision? Is money so tight that people simply can not own 2 cameras? If money for equipment is the issue then the choice is crystal clear to me, stay with film. If quality - it can be a toss up depending on your interpretation. If usability and durability - I say stay with your film. If unsure then explore.