T3I Wide Angle Lens and Lighting

USCRugbyNo1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I currently have a T3i and I just purchased a 10-22 mm wide angle. I am going to be using this lens to shoot inside of homes as I am a real estate agent. I don't have any external flash, but I do have a tripod. Someone also mentioned that I should shoot level as it's very important with this lens. I'm a noob so please be gentle! I welcome all comments and questions! :sexywink:

So post something up and let us rip it apart! Or not. Or... we can give you a virtual high-five if it looks really good. Or we can shake our heads and ... Ok, you get it. Post some pics. ;)

LOL I haven't shot yet. I would rather get tips before shooting! This is why I posted!

Lenses are like dogs. You need to take them out for a walk on a daily basis, otherwise they get all pudgy and cranky and leave little messes in your camera bag. By giving them their daily exercise, you improve their socialization by interacting with you, and you help them feel wanted by having them do what they love to do best - hunt light. Now the challenge with a special breed like the 10-22mm, is that it can try to take on too much. That is where your control as the alpha-dog comes in, keeping a firm (but not too tight) grip by having it sit on a tripod while you give it the right encouragement to look straight - level gives you straight lines. Especially at the wide end, it can be a little greedy and nibble at your toes. And a proper diet of well balanced light, without too much brightness or dark areas will promote good digestion. Really now - How can you train it if you don't take it out frequently?