telephoto lens - which one?

sandyj125

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a novice with my digital camera and photography in general. Basically, I just like to take pictures! I have the Sony A57. Right now I am really only using the auto modes because I need to take the shots and don't have time to figure out what I should be using. Most of my shots are candids. I am hoping to one day have the time to really play with all the settings.

I am looking to buy an all in one lens that I can use for most situations and only have to carry one and not swap out. I know I will sacrifice some things, but for my situation, I think it will work the best.

These are the lenses I am looking at but its so confusing! Please help!

18-200mm from Tamron, Sigma and Sony
18-250mm from Sigma and Sony
18-270mm from Tamron
28-300mm from Tamron

Can anyone help me decipher the differences?

thanks,

Sandy

If I was in your situation, I'd go for the Sony DT 18-135mm

You get all the in body lens correction features and 135mm is plenty of reach for most situation.

I have the 55-200mm and find myself to use my 105mm Macro as telephoto.

thanks, Kolia. I have the 55-200mm and also the 18-55mm. But I really wanted something that went from the 18mm (or posibly the 28mm) to the 200mm or longer. So I guess my question is really how much of a difference is there in the 200mm , 250mm, 270mm and the 300mm. And if I were to get the 270mm or the 300mm, is the Tamron a good lens? Or would I be getting a better lens in another brand if I only went with the 250mm.

Keep in mind that I am a novice. I will not be printing any professional prints, or enlarging to poster size. I just want the widest range in a single lens, but I don't know enough about the construction and quality of the 3 brands.