The best DSLR set up for music videos $2,000 can buy...

jakechris

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello photoforum world, this is my first post on this site which has popped up numerous times over the last week I've been doing research. A little about myself, I'm a hip hop artist/engineer who owns a high end $11,000 home studio which I only use for my own music. Perhaps a bit expensive, but I'm an electronics nerd who has to own the latest greatest 3D tv/surround sound in my living room and the best recording set up in my master bedroom. I've recently decided that uploading a song to youtube with a pic in the background is not the way. I want to engage my audience, give them great content, tell stories, and create not just a song, but an overall entertainment experience, with every song. While there are local guys who charge to shoot videos, I'd much rather invest the money in my own set up and never have to worry about time or location limitations, much less the total expense over time of multiple videos. Like I said, I'm a nerd, so investing the time into learning post production is something I'm willing to do.

So over the last week, I've come up with a list of things, and need advice on things that I plan to purchase for a total of $2,000 to start shooting videos, here are the things I'm sure about...
1. Canon T5i body only, $600, I know the T3i can get just as good video, but it's only a $100 more for the touch screen upgrade and newer features, so why not
2. Canon 50 mm 1.4 lens, $400, the 1.8 is also recommended, but from my research, is not as long term and slightly less quality wise than the 1.4, I'd rather spend the extra and never need an upgrade, I'm going to be shooting scenes in a club/bar/strip club environment, apparently the 1.4 will be perfect for lower light settings like these