The Robots Are Coming

This has been steadily happening for years since the Industrial Revolution. It seems to flip flop around between machines being cheaper to finding countries where workers can be paid dirt cheap for the same work.

I've also read that some machines start of cheaper, but can work out more expensive in the long run because retooling and adjusting for new materials, products and ideas can sometimes cost way more than it would have to pay and train human staff.

We are still a very long way from when machines will do everything, but there wil lbe a nasty period between then (if) and now where machines take more jobs and it gets harder on the marketto secure work. Then again vast population increase also makes jobs all the harder to get.

Before I retired, I worked in a factory, on the production lines. When I started there in 2002, we had about 100 people on each shift on the lines plus support people. When I retired, two years ago, we were down to 6. Those 6 spent their time looking at computer screens.

There are two big drawbacks. 1) the machines need to work all day every day to cover the very high capital costs. You cannot lay them off if the work dries up. Our work was seasonal but they need to keep those machines working regardless. 2) as Overread mentioned, machines are not adaptable. We could switch from product A to product B in a matter of minutes when I was running a team of 40 people. The machines need to be reset and readjusted which can take hours.

Machines are available today that are not only adaptable, they are autonomous and able to react to changing conditions.

I imagine, conservatively, that 50 years from today between 1/4 and 1/2 of the US population will not have jobs because robots are doing the work those people used to do.

Machines are available today that are not only adaptable, they are autonomous and able to react to changing conditions.