Thinking about starting up professionally

melxclarke

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, I'm new to the forum but not really new to photography as an artform. I studied some photography at college as part of my multimedia and graphic design degree years ago and have been passionate about it as a hobby since. I have invested in a good camera in recent years to try and learn more of the basics and am thinking of going on a course to learn the technicals.

I have had my images used by a swiss rock band for their album artwork which was distributed worldwide and since then I have been encouraged to study more and set up selling prints, but you know when your family and people who love you encourage you think you're great. I'd appreciate some feedback from photographers who don't know me, as I think my pictures I've always taken and edited just for me, how I see the world in my own unique way and never thought they had commercial value at all.

I have a small selection of my pictures online at melanie clarke photgraphy

Many thanks to everyone who takes the time to check it out :)

Jumping the gun with the popcorn, I think.

MXC, you have some very nice images on your website.

Jumping the gun with the popcorn, I think.

With this crowd?

First post out of the gate, in the beginners forum, linking to a website without posting images, and talking about going pro is almost a 100% chance for a flame fest regardless of the quality of the images. I could be wrong, but I'd be surprised if I was. I wasn't saying anything about the OP at all......... just setting up to watch the parade.

And yes, they are good images.

Last edited:
But isn't that the difference? Somebody has the passions and images that show real promise, as opposed to the KarrisaBest troll threads?

But isn't that the difference? Somebody has the passions and images that show real promise, as opposed to the KarrisaBest troll threads?