Thoughts on "Color Splash"?

tHarpKS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What do you think of "Color Splash"? Useful? Or just dumb?

Here's an example of what I am talking about if "Color Splash" isn't what it's called.

IMG_0376.jpg

IMG_0356.jpg

Thanks!

Thomas

Excuse the excessive amount of alcohol.... it just so happens these are the only two I have for immediate use with "color splash" effect. :angel:

It depends on what you are going for. If your aim is to draw attention to the liquid, mission accomplished. I'm not a pro by any means, but I think it's a good use of it. I think its called "selective color" but I'm not 100% sure.

Many people here will agree with Selective coloring is dumb, and very rarely used.. It should only be used on 1/1000 photos in my thoughts. I just think it's overplayed

It's called selective coloring, and everyone here seems to hate it for some reason. I think it's useful sometimes, but it's gotten a little played out? To me it seems to work best in like product photography, and advertising. I rented this hilarious little Ford Fiesta in lime green once, and the users manual had a photo of the car in selective color on some city street. In that situation it worked really well I thought, on the cover a user's manual.

I like the first photo you posted, if it was going to be used along with some description or recipe for those drinks.

Not a fan of selective coloring, mainly because it's always done horribly.

That being said, I think you're on the right track. You've put the subjects in color, not some arbitrary piece of furniture in the back ground.

THAT being said (lol), I don't think it's enough to save either photo. These are more-so photoshopped snapshots.

Keep working; for a first try, I'd say you did better than most do.