Thoughts on this setup - cowboy studio

TheNevadanStig

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.jasonlighthallphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Amazon.com: CowboyStudio Photography/Video Studio Triple Lighting Kit with 10 feet x 12 feet Black, White and Green Muslins Backdrops and Background Support System with Case: Camera & Photo

My wife works at a pet memorial and cremation business, and they recently got one of these for doing photos. Needless to say, my wife wants to get one for pictures of our pets. Thoughts, ideas, suggestions on this for a complete beginner? Am I better off piecing something together for a similar price? My wife is usually fully against spending any more money on photo equipment so its hard not immediately take the opportunity :mrgreen:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Lots; all bad. Cowboy studio is of a quality such that it gives honest junk a bad name! For very little more money, you can get infinitely better consumer-grade gear in the form of Adorama's Flashpoint line. Continuous lighting is less than ideal, and this set-up, despite what you might think from the claims, provides VERY little light.

Uh, no. CFLs into white umbrellas, might as well not even have the umbrellas as you're just throwing light everywhere. Not only that, but you'll constantly be fighting ambient light, since your ambient light is going to be almost as bright as those bulbs! I would recommend slowing down, saving some money, and getting a decent monolight to start.

Combine posts #2 and #3 and you have my answer... DEFINITELY look into something else...a flash-based system for sure. CFL's are just so....Cowboy Studio....

I bought one small item from Cowboy studio just out of morbid curiosity, and it basically fell apart in my hands when I took it out of the box. Absolute bottom of the barrel, worthless junk. You might as well just go throw your money out a window.