To light meter or not to light meter...

Cinka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been seriously considering getting a light meter. I've been looking at the Sekonic L-758C and while it's gotten some great reviews, it's a tad on the expensive side. I like that you can capture ambient and flash light remotely with this one and not have to worry about a card or some other attachment.

At the moment, I can spend the money. Not sure I want to - if there's a less expensive model with equal capabilities. I'm still new to the world of light meters, but I'm sure it will help me step up my game.

Does anyone have any thoughts? Advice?

What are you going to use it for? Studio, outdoor nature, all around??? I have the Sekonic 358 an it does everything I need. If you need a spot meter and Pocketwizard transmitter then the 758 C would be cost effective. I don't need the spot meter and happened to get mine with a free Pocketwizard transmitter so I was set at a much cheaper cost.

I think the L-758C might just be a bit overkill for one's first-ever light meter--that is unless you plan on becoming a very dedicated cinema/videography shooter. The in-built Pocketwizard transmitter would be nice for serious studio shooting working alone.