Totally new to photography, first photo..

Richard1987

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey.
Just got my first real camera, a Canon G1 X, and im totally new to photography.

Went out and took a couple of photos this evening, and this is one of them..

img0763iw.jpg

Would appreciate all comments since I'm here to learn....I was just messing about with the manual settings and think this photo looks OK
but ****, what do I know :D Dont know anything about the different settings yet...

Well, you managed to use a classic technique of leading lines, where you use the lines in your frame to guide the viewers eye, kinda. hehe
I dont like the colour of the image, looks too night shot-ish. Try processing the image to a black and white and boost up the exposure as it looks a bit low. Or switch the white balance to make it a bit bluer

Are you shooting in RAW? Does your camera allow that? Read up on RAW format vs JPG format. Essentially, RAW captures ALL the data from the picture while JPG is an end result of your camera applying some processing to it. If you get into photography and start to edit images, RAW is the way to go as you have more pixels to play with.

If you are shooting at night, watch for slow shutter speeds. Slow shutter speeds will introduce blur frmo your body's movement. Even if you are really trying hard to be still, you still breathe. Use a tripod to shoot at slow shutter speeds.

I would highly suggest a book called Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. Great introduction to how photography works and some decent key basics in how to make an image.

Thanx for the comments! I'll see if i can find that book :) This photo is a JPEG version, my camera allow me to shoot in RAW if in manual mode (jpeg only in automatic). But since I cant view the raw file on my computer (I'm getting adoble lightroom as we speak) i could'nt post it.

I'll try to make the raw photo in black and white and boost the exposure.