Upgrade from 7D to 5D Mark III ?

TimothyJinx

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.timothymillerphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I currently own two 7D's and a few video cameras. Thinking about selling one of the 7D's and my Panasonic AF100 (video camera) and buying a 5d Mark III. I'm still a photography rookie but I'm considering this upgrade. One of my main reasons is for better high ISO performance for indoor sports, etc. Most of my lenses are EF lenses so I'm good there.

My question is this: Any of you out there upgrade from the 7D? Was it worth it? What are your primary uses?

The 5DMIII has not only a superior usable ISO range but also a superior AF system to the 7D. For lowlight indoor sports I'd say that the 5DMIII makes all the more sense over a 7D if you can afford it (and provided that you've also got the lenses that have wide maximum apertures and also enough focal length to get you the shots framed well).

The only thing the 7D has as a "bonus" is its crop factor, which you can likely simulate on the 5DMIII by cropping without much loss of quality because of its high MP.

The 7D is still a great camera body, but from what you've said it sounds like you've some superfluous bodies and a need for the features that the 5DMIII is going to provide for you.,

I think you'll be pretty impressed with the 5D III. The ISO performance is substantially better and the focusing system is amazing.

The 5D III basically has the same focusing system as the flagship 1D-X (there's one subtle difference in how they link focus tracking to the metering system, but apart from that, they're identical.)

There's actually a manual -- roughly 45 pages -- on JUST how to use the advanced focusing system. You can get it here: Canon DLC: Article: Master the EOS-1D X's AF System (find the link to the PDF in the lower left side of that page.)