Upgrading from Canon SL1 to Canon 5D

Delta 374

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi

I have been shooting with my Canon SL1 for about 2 years now, before I shot maybe a year with a Nikon D3200. I have been planning on upgrading to full frame for quite a while now, and tried to amass a few full frame lenses before the move (like the Canon EF 100-400mm L).

I am trying to decide what kind of full frame I really need based on my uses. I like to do travel photography, and I really enjoy milky way photography. I was initially looking at the Canon 6D, as it is pretty much the most well known camera for astrophotography. However, even with my Canon SL1 and a small aperture (around 3.5-4) I can get pretty decent photographs of the Milky Way with surprisingly less noise then I had expected.

With a full frame camera I was also planning on buying a Rokinon 14mm F2.8, which should improve the brightness of the galaxy, and the wide angle combined with full frame allowing more exposure time.

I became very interested in the initial Canon 5D, as it has a very appealing price of around $300 or so used and I really don't need all the features of the Canon 6D (like GPS, WiFi). I just care purely about image quality. All over other various forums I see the main detractor of the 5D is just its age and feel, and I could care less about these qualities. I feel that it being a full frame camera should give it an improvement over my SL1 inherently.

Would the original 5D be suitable for my needs, and would it be a significant improvement over my SL1?

Thank you!

If you're interested in astrophotography, the higher ISO capabilities of the 6D would be an important consideration for you. The 5D caps out at 1600 ISO. Most of the best astrophotography shots I've seen posted here are 3200 or even higher. It allows the shutter speed to be higher so that the stars can appear as pinpoints rather than with small trails.