Used Nikon d100

optimumw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi... i am new to photography and i want to buy my first dslr...also i have a very limited budget...i found a used d100 like new with 3000 clicks with also the battery grip and everything else for about 90-100$...at your opinion is it worth to buy such an old dslr at this price? and also i am afraid that the picture quality will be light years difference with modern dslrs...what is your opinion? thank you

Last edited:
The image quality is mostly up to the photographer using a camera within its limitations, but the features and capabilities of the D100 have definitely been surpassed by newer designs.

Of course the newer designs will cost you more, even used, than a D100 even though in it's day the D100 was a prosumer grade DSLR.

If you can afford to double your budget you might want to consider a used prosumer grade Nikon D200 for $200 to $250:
Nikon D200 10.2MP Digital SLR Camera (Body Only)

For $450 - $500 you can get a prosumer grade D300:
Nikon D300 DX 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera (Body Only)

For $300 or so you can get a compact, entry-level Nikon D3100:
Nikon D3100 14.2MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
hi thank you for the answer...i forgot to to say tha ti have also in my mind the d70...my logic is to start first with an old cheap dslr and then if i demand more maybe i will buy a better new body...this guy that sells me the d100 told me that is a great price for this camera with this condition and also the battery grip...and also he guarantees me that the picture quality will be ok to start...i also thinking to buy a nikon 18-200mm vr to go with...

The D50 has an internal auto focus motor so it can auto focus the older Nikon lenses so that's a big bonus. You'd be able to AF with awesome older lenses.