Using Flash Properly

naaaach

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was browsing TPF just now and saw this thread. The conversation got interesting. Being a beginner myself, I wanted to ask all the pros...when do I use flash? And how?

The thread had amazing examples of achieving great results with flash.

I have no idea on how I would go about achieving those results. All I have, by the way, for flash, is the on-board built-in flash on my D90.

Any protips are appreciated!

I have no idea on how I would go about achieving those results. All I have, by the way, for flash, is the on-board built-in flash on my D90.

Step 1, get a real flash
The worse place for a flash is right above the lens as the popup is

Step 2, learn to bounce the flash off things to diffuse the light

Step 3, learn to get that flash off camera (by cord, by radio trigger, optical trigger, whatever)

Well this was using flash but then someone mentioned to pay attention to where to place the flash so it doesn't create shadows. So since then I always pay attention to where I place flash and make sure it's head on so there's no harsh shadows from nose on their faces. But this is from when I first started. Used a strobe with vagabond II and if I did that again, I'd place the flash on my left instead of on my right. So pay attention to where you place your flash.

59202_155448117813136_145244588833489_381727_6308440_n.jpg

Well this was using flash but then someone mentioned to pay attention to where to place the flash so it doesn't create shadows. So since then I always pay attention to where I place flash and make sure it's head on so there's no harsh shadows from nose on their faces.