Using my SB700 with Nikon D300 and motion blur problems

gossamer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I have a D300 with an SB700 and a 16-85mm lens. I don't understand why, under most conditions, the shutter speed seems to be locked at 1/60th, even when in shutter priority, for example. I'm relatively new to using a speedlight.

Someone had mentioned to me this could be changed in the camera, but I can't figure out which setting it would be, or more importantly, why it chooses to do this in the first place. Does the camera expect that the flash will compensate for it? Is it some restriction I have in place in the flash?

I've tried shutter and aperture priority, as well as various ISO speeds.

Using a 1/60th with the flash resulted in too much motion blur when taking pics of my daughter playing in the leaves :-(

A related question - when the camera is set to shutter priority, and the rest of the settings aren't at the extremes, how can it produce a picture that isn't exposed properly?

Thanks for any ideas.
Dave

essentially 1/60th of a second is too slow a shutter speed to stop a pictures of someone playing.
You have to have a faster shutter speed such as the 1/250 above recommedation.

at 1/60 you probably get motion blur from the object (your daughter) moving and also your own movement. Most people cannot take a picture of a brick at 1/60 without getting motion blur from hand movement. you'd be amazed how much people move the camera from just pushing the shutter button.

essentially 1/60th of a second is too slow a shutter speed to stop a pictures of someone playing.
You have to have a faster shutter speed such as the 1/250 above recommedation.