Using speedlights instead of studio lights for the first time - Gear Advice Needed!

TheSharpshooter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone, so Photoschool is over meaning I don't have access to a studio anymore. I'm starting to invest in small, easy to carry (especially in the subway!) equipment for light but I am not very experienced in using speedlights so I am unsure of what exactly I need to make this work.

So far I bought a used Nikon SB-900 from a friend and ordered a 76cm Ezybox (A softbox for speedlights). But else do I need? I suppose I need a lightstand which can easily be transported when one doesn't own a car and can be set high enough for paramound light and is also sturdy enough not to be knocked over by wind when shooting outside? I'm also very confused about the best way to trigger my speedlights when using my Nikon D700. Go wireless? Cables? What do I need other than what I already have in order to make this work?

For any equipment suggestions please know that I live in Germany so no brands that are available only in the US.

Thank you all for your help! :)

Last edited by a moderator:
I used 3 vivitar 285's on pocketwizard triggers before I got real strobes. They worked great
bigthumb.gif

What 2Wheel said! I use my speedlights and Ezybox (Gotta love Lastolite! :thumbup: ) far more than I do my actual monolights. Pocket Wizards (or the more economical, albeit slightly less reliable, Cactus Triggers) are THE only way to go for remote triggering

What exactly do I need to go wireless? Also any recommendations on lightstands? Sorry I'm kinda very new to off camera speedlights and even newer to wireless. My school was kinda old school we shot everything using Nikon FM2's.