Using the D3300 in manual mode

Discussion in 'Nikon Cameras' started by redbourn, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. redbourn

    redbourn No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Nazaré, Portugal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Trying to improve photos for my cookbook so decided to give manual mode a whirl.

    I set the ISO

    Go into manual mode and understand how to change speed and aperture.

    But when I change them, the camera changes the ISO

    Does this mean that I'm not understanding something or the D3300 doesn't offer true manual mode.

    I looked at several sites and videos but none that I found touched on this.

    Trying to get better and any help would be much appreciated.

    Michael


     
  2. SCraig

    SCraig Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Auto ISO is turned on. Turn it off and things will behave normally.
     
  3. jcdeboever

    jcdeboever TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15,751
    Likes Received:
    9,146
    Location:
    Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    That is normal. That camera is real good in low light so usually a higher ISO is acceptable. You could go into menu and turn off auto ISO and it would default to 100. When I shoot my studio flowers, I turn auto ISO off since shooting on a tripod and using a remote shutter. I assume you are using the same for your cuisine captures.
     
  4. redbourn

    redbourn No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Nazaré, Portugal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Until now, I've only been using the A setting but am wanting to venture into new pastures.

    How to turn off the auto ISO isn't obvious, or wasn't to me.

    ISO.jpg

    Thanks for the reply.
    Michael
     
  5. redbourn

    redbourn No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Nazaré, Portugal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks and it solved my problem.
    But turning it off wasn't at all obvious; to me anyway.
    Michael

    ISO.jpg
     
  6. Sherman71

    Sherman71 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Look for ISO in the setup menu. You want to turn Auto ISO off.


     

Share This Page