UV Filter

D-50

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I use UV filters on all my lenses more for protection than anything else. What does the UV filter really do though in terms of effecting the photo? I find it some times creates lens flares when otherwise a flare would not occur. I assume it filter UV rays but what does that do?

I use UV filters on all my lenses more for protection than anything else. What does the UV filter really do though in terms of effecting the photo? I find it some times creates lens flares when otherwise a flare would not occur. I assume it filter UV rays but what does that do?

I am by no means an expert on this answer as I mostly use them for the same reason you do, but I believe it blocks out the haze in shots caused by UV light. This in turn also appears to increase saturation, contrast, and sharpness.

Keep in mind though that a UV filter can also soften the picture.

If this is incorrect, please correct me.

It filters out the short-wavelength UV rays that can cause colors to wash out, thereby increasing color saturation and definition. Though it's virtually invisible to the eye, cameras tend to see UV as a bluish cast. The effect is more visible in certain instances (e.g. at higher altitudes) where UV light is more intense. As you know, the filter's also good as a protective physical barrier in front of the lens.

As it's an additional piece of glass on the lens, any filter can increase the likelihod of flare to some extent. That's why the best (and most expensive) filters are multi-coated, which greatly reduces flare.

A clean, good-quality filter should not affect overall image sharpness to a noticeable degree.

Whereas a cheap, non-coated filter can destroy the quality of your images.

If you have expensive, high resolution lenses then it is just silly to use cheap filters on them... I know, I was silly. Don't scrimp on your UV filters, buy B&W or other pro-level filters.