ViewNX2 vs. Adobe Photoshop

BrandonLaw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and up until now I have been using ViewNX2 to process my RAW files. It seems to do the job fine but I have never used Photoshop so I don't know. Why should I buy Adobe Photoshop instead of continuing to use the software Nikon provided me with my camera?

It depends what you want to do, Photoshop is much, much more than a raw processor and a brilliant creative tool but even so lacks some of the useful functionality that NX2 provides; that browser interface which is so useful when you're processing photos.
An adobe product that is (IMO) better than NX2 in every way is Lightroom, it doesn't have the creative power of Photoshop but uses the same raw convertor and has excellent browsing/organising/batch editing features. It's also a lot cheaper than Photoshop.
You can get a one month, fully functioning trial version, I tried it, after one month I bought it (going back to NX2 after using Lightroom was just not an option).

Hi Brandon - you mentioned that you are new to photography - may I suggest that you work with ViewNX2 until you find you have limitations to what you want to do with that software. For a hobbyist, which I assume you are, the ViewNX2 is a sufficiently good software. The Adobe PS is a much more powerful software with some special functions, which I think will not be so useful for you at this stage. Furthermore, the PS is expensive and you probably need to upgrade your computer and screen to fully capture the nuances of the output.

Use what works for you. If NX2 suffices, there's no reason to drop the dime on PS.