Want camera with fast shutter speed and low lag time

GroovyDreamyFab

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to this forum. I've used a Nikon D70s in the past and currently use a Nikon Coolpix P500. I want to replace this camera. I'm just an amateur photographer and I love photographing my dogs. I enjoy taking lots of action shots. I always felt like the D70s was too much camera for me, however, it did meet my needs. I want a camera with a fast shutter speed (but how fast?) and low lag time. The D70s was up to 1/8000. My current camera is way lower. Do you think 1/4000 would meet my needs? The lag on the Coolpix just kills me. These two things are most important to me, shutter speed and lag time. I am open to cameras other than Nikon for sure. Recently I was eyeing the Canon Alpha Nex-5T. It's up to 1/4000. Any advice would be appreciated.
Cassandra

For what you want you need an electric/mechanical shutter. What your D70 and most DSLR's use. Most P&S cameras don't, thus the lag time.

1/4000 would be plenty fast to freeze a dog. Personally I would try to find the sweet spot where the dogs feet would have a little blur since they would be moving faster than the body to give a sense of motion.

Sony makes the NEX 5T and would serve your needs great. I owned the last model the NEX 5R and loved it. Very fast response time.

Although I really liked my two Canon point-and-shoots as I transitioned from 35mm SLRs, the shutter lag caused way too many missed shots. I learned to 'live with it' for 7-8 years before I finally moved up to a used DSLR. Shutter lag problem solved.

There's not actually anything magical about DSLRs that give them low shutter lag. They have low shutter lag purely because they have fairly powerful computers in them for what they are.