What am I doing wrong?

Eva D

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a beginner and I am still learning the art of photography. My cousin asked me to take her maternity pics and this is what I captured. I showed up at her house and after a few hours of procrastinating she finally got ready. It so happened that the sun was going down and my light was pretty much non-existent by the time we started shooting which was the reason for my 50mm and a slower shutter speed. Besides these flaws what can I do better next time and what could I do to make my photography any better? Thank you in advance for looking at my post. Any feedback and comments are greatly appreciated.

1. Canon T2i with 50mm lens. f/6.3 1/15shutter speed ISO 200

mistyanderic1.jpg

Don't cut off body parts :) However, tighter crop would be probably more suitable here, because the background isn't really adding any value to the image.

Be sure an learn the science of photography too.

You could have increased your ISO a full stop to ISO 400. That would have gotten you a full stop more of shutter speed - 1/30, and exactly the same exposure.

You could have opened the lens aperture a full stop to f/4.5 and had a bit more selective focus (blurred background). That would have gotten you another full stop of shutter speed too - 1/60, and exactly the same exposure.

If you had used some off camera strobed light (flash), you could have used a shutter speed of 1/200 to control the ambient light exposure separately from the strobed light exposure and turned the ISO down to ISO 100. When using strobed light, the short duration of the flash of light stop s motion, and lens aperture controls the strobed light exposure.

By using 1/200 for the shutter speed, the background would be much darker than your subjects really making the couple 'pop' .