What camera?

JBLoudG20

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jayt.org
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to a DSLR, and I am debating what camera I should get.

My friend is offering me a gently used 4 month old 350D with kit lens for $450. I was curious what else I might look at with a budget of about $550?

I plan on hanging around here... so look forward to my bad attmepts at what you guys (and gals) do! :blushing:

Digital Matt said:
Get a 50mm f/1.8, which is less than $100, around $75.

this is very common advice, and there's a reason for it. it almost always works.

if you got an xt, kit lens, and the 50mm 1.8 for $550, that would be an absolute steal and a much better solution than point and shoot digital cameras at that price.

Digital Matt said:
Get a 50mm f/1.8, which is less than $100, around $75.

Oops, maybe I wasn't clear.. what other cameras should I be looking at? Should I just take his Rebel off his hands?

thebeginning said:
this is very common advice, and there's a reason for it. it almost always works.

if you got an xt, kit lens, and the 50mm 1.8 for $550, that would be an absolute steal and a much better solution than point and shoot digital cameras at that price.

Ah, understood. Thanks for clearing that up.

Yes...for that price, that sounds like a good deal. Especially because it's from someone you know (and hopefully trust). You could maybe get a better deal on a used camera or a better model from E-bay etc....but then you have to pay shipping and all the uncertainty that goes with that.

I'm with the others, get that camera and get a 50mm F1.8...then you will bet set.

My friend is absolutly meticulous with his gear, so I KNOW I am getting a good product.

Any links for the lens you suggest?

We seem to have lost our links to B&H and Adorama at the top...

Here it is

Adorama

Thanks for the help. I already purchased a SanDisk Ultra II 2GB CF card... and hopefully I'll have my new camera this weekend!