What could I do to get crisper indoor shots? Pic example inside!

Gallery29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still learning. I went to a wedding indoors and the lighting situation was pretty bad -- yellow hues everywhere from the awful lights above. No windows and it was at night.

I got some decent shots at the wedding, but I'm curious as to how I could get crisper photos indoors in situations like this. I think there's a "blur" or "noise" over some of my shots. Here's an image that's been unedited. Forget everything else, I know it needs to be cropped, straightened, and the ugly lines in the hideous plastic backdrop need to be spot healed out. What I'm asking about is the "noise" over the image, the fact that his face is less crisp than I'd like, and how his jacket really shows the noise or whatever this may be.

I used a 50D, 420 EX flash, I believe ISO was at 800 because it was pretty dang dark in there and needed to be upped even with the flash firing, f5.6, shutter 1/64.

Would upping the shutter speed have helped this? I know that the shutter speed can obviously reduce some blur but I don't know if that's the issue here -- which is why I need some advice from you awesome people! Thanks :)

IMG_1084.jpg

Sorry, it is, in fact, actually turned the right way on photobucket. Not sure why it's not showing up on the message board the right way.

While we're waiting for the awesome people, I'll take a stab at it. It's a law; lighting HAS to be bad at weddings (or at least it should be a law; every wedding I've ever been to has had gawd-awful lighting).