What do I need to shoot

robdavis305

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im very new to the digital age and am confused on what file to shoot. I like taking pics of cars and trains and enlarging to 20x20. Is it best to shoot in jpeg raw, fine or just regular fine or raw. Im using a Nikon D90. Any replies are greatly appreciated

It's best to shoot at maximum size RAW.

RAW for sure. Why cut yourself short?

One method is to shoot RAW + JPEG and allow the D90 to process the images using whatever in-camera processing you want to do. Shoot JPEG Fine, Large size. Use whatever Active D-Lighting level you think the scene needs.

The D90 will perform in-camera chromatic aberration reduction, and the in-camera D-Lighting, or whatever other adjustment parameters you decide to apply. You can see a comparison of two scenes, one shot with the D90, the other with the Canon XSi, and compare the results of Nikon's in-camera chromatic aberration reduction against a camera that does not correct for lens chromatic aberration. Nikon D90 review Cameralabs outdoor results

Lens chromatic aberration,often abbreviated simply as CA, is a BIG problem with many consumer-level and even moderate level lenses, and the D90 will remove this for you on its in-camera JPG files,as well as providing a more or less 'finished looking' picture.

It's possible that the D90's in-camera image processing in RAW + JPEG will produce a file that's as good, or better, than what you can produce from a .NEF file converted later in software, since the D90 is a "smart" camera and Nikon has programmed it with the ability to profile away CA, as well as do noise reduction and in-camera sharpening that is better than what anybody except a very competent Photoshop user or Nikon Capture user can produce.