What is white balance and how to use it?

billsphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just started learning about photography. Need some help on some white balance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

curious: if you dont know what white balance is, how do you know you need help on some?

You're camera may have the ability for you to modify WB in camera and save it as a new photo, and view the changes on screen.

You may want to read up on your camera's ability in this regards.

I first started learning about WB whilst playing with my camera in the bathroom. The white tub etc was off white in a few test shots. I learned how to take a photo and change it in camera, then I learned more about the WB different lighting situations, and custom WB.

I say read your manual a bit, then play with your camera. You have to learn to understand your camera features then you'll be able to understand WB better.

curious: if you dont know what white balance is, how do you know you need help on some?

per my above example of taking photos in the bathroom,
I noticed my White tub & bathroom were precariously yellowish .... thus I started learning why ...
probably the same thing the OP is now exploring.

I bought a house built in the 80s, so my tub & bathroom ARE precariously yellowish.

I bought a house built in the 80s, so my tub & bathroom ARE precariously yellowish.
lol
well adjust your WB to make them white .. at least in photos
:thumbup:

What camera do you have? On my D7000 in Live View, I can change Wb and see the change on the screen before I take photo. I am a visual person, so seeing helped me understand better.
You are posting under 'Websites' so you may want to post any new questions under 'Basic' or 'Beginner' category so the right people see your question. You will find a lot of great help here, welcome.
Nancy