What lens for studio photography?

denawayne

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a hobbyist who just set up a 2 flash/umbrella studio in my house. I am using a Nikon D40. I have the kit lens, 18-55, plus the 55-200. I want to spend some money on a better lens specifically for studio photography. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

since you have a d40 and it does not auto focus with non-afs lens
i would get the af-s 50mm 1.4 or the af-s 35mm hands down
+ i would get the 301p radio triggers for your flashes.
they cost pretty much nothing compared to pw and they work really well for a small home studio,

Wow, thanks for the fast response! I'll check into the lens' you suggested. AF is not that important to me. I'm trying to ween myself off of it. Unfortunately I cannot use a radio trigger with the SB-400 so I am tethered to a sync cord. Since my studio is so small, I can live with the cord. I eventually want to buy better flashes but a lens is more important to me right now. I'm getting decent pictures but they are not that crisp.

If you dont really care about the auto-focus,
have a look at the 50mm 1.8
you can get it for about +-120$

I didnt know the sb-400 couldnt be triggered by any 3rd party trigger......i never used a sb-400.

But for studio photography, I believe you do not need fast lens. Just need something decently sharp and focus on lighting.

How big is the studio and what will you mostly be taking pictures of? People or things?

35 mm is a bit short for portraiture, 50 mm is ok, 85 mm and 105 mm are good if your studio is big enough. Even better is 200 mm but you need more room to move away from your subject.

But for studio photography, I believe you do not need fast lens. ...

It depends a lot on the type of studio work you intend to do.