What to do with an old Canon film camera with two lenses....??

samadi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm in the market for a new DSLR. The choices are daunting to say the least. My budget is pretty low ($400-700) and I'm relatively new to photography. I used to have a Nikon D40 w/18-200mm lens but it was stolen.

I remembered I have an old Canon EOS 500 QD 35mm film camera with two lenses.

how much you think this camera (and lenses are worth)?

Would these lenses work on a newer Canon body? say a EOS Rebel SL1, T4i or T5i?

I don't want to spend extra money and add more electronic waste unnecessarily. Especially since I'm still learning about photography.

I'm wondering what would be the best setup/value for money. Will the quality of the photos be just as nice if I were to use a new/used cam body with these old lenses or am I better off just buying a new cam body with a kit lens? For example: Nikon D3300 or D5200

I'm traveling to Asia in the winter and enjoy taking landscape photos, portraits, nature, some macros and enjoy shooting video once in a while.

This is the old film camera I have:

Cam body: Canon EOS 500 QD
First lens: Canon zoom lens EF 35-80mm 1:4-5.6 III, 52mm
Second lens: Canon zoom lens EF 75-300 1:4-5.6 II

thoughts? suggestions? advice?

I use one of my F1 bodies with a motor drive as a door stop. The other four bodies and lenses are in a cardboard box somewhere in the house.

lenses should be usable on digital Canons, but these in particular are not top quality, and the 35-80 will be too long to be used as a general purpose lens. However, if you buy any othe the mentioned cameras with a kit lens (18-55 or 18-135), you can use the 75-300 tele until you become able to recognize its limits, so it is worth to keep it if you buy a Canon. But I would not base my brand decision on it. Body + 35-80 might have a value of... 20$?

Agree with both of the above answers.