When To Use Flash

Soul Rebel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I did a quick search and google gave me a lot of stuff about the flash that I dont want. So hopefully its not a problem to ask this here.

When do I use flash? Since I am going to be using my SLR I will have to attach the flash instead of having the camera decide when to use flash when I use the digital camera.

Today I was walking through the words and for the most part it was very clear. There was a lot of light showing through but the trees did cut down on the light. Would this have been a good situation to use the flash?

i'm not a photography expert by any means but i normaly tend not to use flash when doing portait or photo shots as it gives the face a unnatural tone, but for some reason with my D50 it takes an extra second without flash so i have to use a tripod, as for the woods? i thought it would be cool having a shot with the shadows all over the trees etc, i wouldnt use it in nature as it seems unnatural.. just what i do.

Since you are not using film I would hook up the flash and see what you like.
See what the photos look like and find your style.

That's one reason I like digital. You can play around and if it does not work, dump it and try again.

For landscape shots, using flash would be unusual. It would look very unnatural.

I use flash indoors where it's just too dark to get a usable shutter speed. I always try to bounce the flash or diffuse it in some way.

Another time to use flash is when shooting people outside during the day, especially when in bright sunlight. This is fill-flash, and is just to fill in the shadows caused by the strong lighting. Usually with fill flash, you want to turn down the flash output...so that it's balanced with the ambient light.