Where to get your photos printed?

cphasma14

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I am new to the photography world and just wanted to ask where to get your photographs printed. Thanks!

Superior photo in Morgantown WV. They print, mount and custom frame at reasonable prices. They are on the web too.

Home | Superior Photo & Frames

The answer could be anywhere from Walgreens to a specialty printing shop... I use Aluminyze (Aluminyze.com) which specializes in printing on aluminum sheets (it's not photographic paper).

Since you're new, one important detail that probably won't occur to you is that each unique combination of printer/paper/ink type will literally have a different look to it. It's not just that... but the papers absorb the inks differently. This literally causes the colors you see in the photo to NOT be the same color once printed on the paper. To compensate, the labs "profile" the printer/ink/paper combinations. Suppose a printer tends to under-apply the reds... so maybe the printer profile causes the printer to apply more red than it otherwise would to compensate.

If you just send what you think of as your final image to the printer, you may be disappointed with the results.

Some of these labs will take your image and then apply their own adjustments to get it to print on the printer in such a way that resembles your photo. But some places let you download the printer's color profile and you can upload a print and ask them to NOT adjust it. Photoshop (just picking on that as an example) can let you apply the printers "profile" to your image so that it produces an output file that might look wonky on the screen... but actually causes the printer to produce a more accurate image. That way when the lab prints it, you actually get what you want. If you're not good at this, most labs will apply the profile for you. But you need to be aware of the option and know if the lab is going to apply the profile or not.