Which book to buy...

Dghandour

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Just wondering which book you'd prefer. I am new to the digital photo world and would like some good reading material to go with my Canon.

Digital Photography Book by Scott Kelby or Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson?

Appreciate your advise!

Hi there. I will only spend my money on my gears. Learning everything about photography costs me an internet connection and some practice.

This topic has come up again and again on these pages. You might start by reading through the posts in:

Photography Books for Beginners Photography Forum

My own [very small] contribution to your question is the suggestion that you not neglect the composition side of the process while learning the technical.

Hi there. I will only spend my money on my gears. Learning everything about photography costs me an internet connection and some practice.

Learning online can work well, but it has downsides. The net is fantastic for smaller case studies and specific methods or theories; but its typically less good at stringing it all together into a process. Thus books often give a much more structured, much more formal and much easier to get the whole picture approach that gives you a working foundation.

From there you can use internet resources to aid you by filling in each part with more detail; or if not more detail just different approaches or ideas.

When you learn from the net alone you can end up missing out bits, sometimes little bits sometimes big; and sometimes they can cause you to have problems later on when picking up concepts.