• Canon 1100D with twin lens

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Nikon D3200 with twin lens

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

heidijc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a complete newby to photography (currently my only camera is on my phone) so I was wanting some help with which camera to buy. At the moment I mostly want to do portrait stuff, mainly my family however, I would like to be able to branch out a little from the basic photos and do some outdoor eventually too when I know a little more.

My three picks at the moment are:

Nikon P520
Canon 1100D
Nikon D3200

I know the P520 is not an slr but it sounds like I should still be able to do some fiddling? Is that correct?

If i went for the Canon or the D3200 do I really need to buy the twin lens kits or will the single lens do what I need?

Thanks in advance!
from a complete newb!

I am a complete newby to photography (currently my only camera is on my phone) so I was wanting some help with which camera to buy. At the moment I mostly want to do portrait stuff, mainly my family however, I would like to be able to branch out a little from the basic photos and do some outdoor eventually too when I know a little more.

I don't know anything about the 520 or the canon but he is my take on lenses.
I helped my daughter recently buy her first dSLR.
The first thing we got rid of was the twin lens kit.
These are not the greatest quality, but I can tell you:
1) people spend a LOT more on lenses than they ever do on bodies.
2) a good lens can make a significant difference to your photography ... and ... they will outlast your camera bodies by a long margin.
She ended up getting the "Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Nikkor Autofocus Lens". A lot better than the kit lenses at a good price (not as good as the pro lenses of course)
This lens is perfect for portraiture - if you are looking for longer telephoto / sports, then this isn't the lens for you.