Which lens should i invest in?

Jayman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am just getting into photography and was wondering which lenses I should invest my money in. i take pictures of everything but mostly outdoor scenes and some indoor stuff. i have a 18-105mm VR which is the kit lens that came with my D90 (which is nice) but i was also looking into the 70-300mm VR and/or the 50mm 1.4G. Im going to europe spring break and i want to make sure im covered. also could you suggest some filters i should get for UV and polarizing. Thanks.

I am just getting into photography and was wondering which lenses I should invest my money in. i take pictures of everything but mostly outdoor scenes and some indoor stuff. i have a 18-105mm VR which is the kit lens that came with my D90 (which is nice) but i was also looking into the 70-300mm VR and/or the 50mm 1.4G. Im going to europe spring break and i want to make sure im covered. also could you suggest some filters i should get for UV and polarizing. Thanks.
Your camera has a UV filter on the image sensor so you don't need those.

You'll need Circular Polarizing filters (CPL) for each size filter of your lenses.

The 50 f1.4 uses a 58mm filter size.
The 70-300 uses a 67 mm filter size as does the 18-105 so you only need one for both of those lenses.

B+W makes good filters, the best are probably made by Singh-Ray.

Q: "...which lenses I should invest my money in. i take pictures of everything but mostly outdoor scenes and some indoor stuff."

For the indoor stuff on a DX Nikon, a short-ish,fast prime lens like the 35mm f/1.8-AF-S G makes sense as a normal lens that will not distort things too much,and which is small,light, and only around $200.

The 24mm f/2.8 AF-D is also another favorite of mine for a small,light lens for indoor use. I'd buy this lens on the used market--it seems to be a pretty tough lens that does not become decentered even with rough use.