Which lens to get for Nikon D90

Cyclographist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am relatively new to photography and purchased the Nikon D90 body only. I am looking for some advice on the best lens to get. With my limited budget, I can probably only get one lens. I talked to some friends and they recommended a Tamron 18-200 or so. I have an 18-55 and a 100-300 for my old Nikon, but I'd like to get new ones for the D90 seeing as how both my old lenses came off an old film Nikon and don't have VR or anything.

Does anybody have any recommendations on which lenses are the best all around (Brands, sizes, etc.) ? I do the occasional portrait shot but most of my shots are either sports shots, Telephoto shots, nature shots or urban shots.

Any guidance would be great!

Superzooms are never great; you loose image quality in favour of a wide coverage. They tend to have higher distortion and CA problem, along with lacking in sharpness.

Sports and nature are both towards the tele range along with portraits; 100-300 sort of range is probably good except for portraits; 150mm eff is getting a bit long for anything other than head and shoulders.

Urban? you'll need to define that more.

The lens I've heard nothing but good about is the 35 f/1.8 for DX. Why not use your old lenses (someone with more knowledge comment on compatability please... AF is a potential issue but I don't know a lot about Nikon gear) along with that as a far normal prime while you figure out where they lack and hence what you really need.