Which lens

SethAlbritton

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm not sure which lens I should choose. Nikkor 50mm 1.8 or nikkor 50mm 1.4. I have an understanding of the number and what it means, but I'm not sure if I know the significance of the difference.

I want to use the lens to practice shooting portraits. So, what is the best for this option and can you please explain why. Thanks in advance.

I'm not that experienced - that's my disclaimer.

You pay a lot of money for an f-stop. I know for the canon side, 1.8 lens is a cheap hundred bucks, 1.4 is almost four hundred and a 1.2 is over a thousand...

It's a question of budget mostly, the faster, more expensive lens (1.4) being a better one than the cheaper 1.8.

Still a 1.8 max aperture is going to work well in pretty low light and should be ok for you (I assume).

Now ask yourself if you want the 35mm or the 50mm...

If your still asking these questions and are set on buying a lens go for the 1.8.

If your still asking these questions and are set on buying a lens go for the 1.8.

Great detailed response represented with lots of good information I can apply to my search for a good lens. Your a big help. lol

Thanks to the other dude for a detailed response. I appreciate it.

Smile.gif

I believe these are the Nikon AF lenses available (The Ai-S F/1.2 seem to be a manual focus lens according to a online retail store info)

Nikon 50mm F/1.8D AF (around $130 new)
Lens reviews
Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 D - Review / Test Report
Nikon Lens: Primes - Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor (Tested) - SLRgear.com!

Nikon 50mm F/1.4D AF (around $320 new)
Lens reviews
Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.4 D - Review / Lab Test Report
Nikon Lens: Primes - Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor (Tested) - SLRgear.com!

Nikon 50mm F/1.4G AF-S (around $440 new)
Lens review
Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.4 G - Review / Test Report
Nikon Lens: Primes - Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor (Tested) - SLRgear.com!