Which of my Lenses should i use for portraits?

miked617

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a beginner with a D3400. I usually take photos of landscapes but cars are my passion. However a friend asked me to take portraits of her. Id prefer to just use what i have and not purchase a lense thats "ideal" for portraits. I plan to shoot her indoors and outdoors. The portraits will be for her linkedin page.

The DX lenses i own are, kit, 35mm, micro 40mm, 55-200 and 70-300. Which lense would be the preferred option for portraits?

I have a month or so before i need to do this, so i will continue researching here and youtube for additional tips. Any suggestions are appreciated!

I'd go with your 35 prime, on a DX it's pretty much a 50 and will be good from 2.2 up.. 70-300 might work if you space your subject and background right and step it down a little. depends if you want close cropped head shots or full body.