Why am i not getting the sharpness to my pictures that i am looking for? please help

heavanslilangel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So im relatively new to photography.
I am finding that im not getting those crisp clear shots that i am looking for. My images always seem to come out looking soft. is it a focusing problem, because im focusing first on the part of the image i want clear and then recomposing before taking the picture.
Ok so i dont have the greatest camera. i am using fuji finepix hs20 exr. bridge camera. clearly i realise that at some point i will have to upgrade my camera but at this point i really dont think im ready to take that step yet.
I would be so grateful for any advice.
I have attached a couple of images so you can see what i mean. :)

Attachments

• $1037.jpg
    $1037.jpg
    971.8 KB · Views: 204
If you are shooting jpeg, have you adjusted your jpeg settings in camera to increase sharpening.
Are you shooting wide open, are you shooting at high iso, are you shooting without enough shutter speed.

If you focus and recompose in situations where you have thin depth of field that will definitely cause your initial focus area to be less sharp.

Your Fuji HS70EXR has a 30x superzoom lens. To achieve that superzoom range many design compromises had to be made that all negatively affect image quality.
Any lens that has a 10x or more zoom range has the same issues.

So that is likely the main issue that is causing a lack of focus sharpness.

However, most digital cameras use an active pixel image sensor that has a anti-aliasing (AA) filter in front of it. The AA filter also softens focus to some degree depending on the agressiveness of the filter. Consequently, pretty much all digital images need some amount of post process image sharpening. Real World Image Sharpening with Adobe Photoshop, Camera Raw, and Lightroom (2nd Edition)

Depth-of-field (DoF) and using to slow a shutter speed can also be an issue.