Why can I not figure out appropriate white balance!?!?

laurenivy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I cannot get this for the life of me?? All of my photographs seem colored wrong. I am a semi beginner toying with photoshop. I shoot in RAW/ adjust the white balance and it still seems off to me. Then I toy with the color and it just becomes a mess. Any tips out there anyone can share. Let me try to post a pic so you can see what I mean..

DSC_223544-3 by libst9, on Flickr

Not only have you posted this on flickr, but you've disabled EXIF information. JUST FYI.

It doesn't look bad at all, except for a little heavy on the saturation, maybe!

Post the original for comparison please. Also give a bit more detail as to what you think is wrong?

Is your monitor calibrated?

Excuse my lack of knowledge, lol, but how do I post it with EXIF data? Do I post the one from out of my camera or the edited one saved on my computer?

The colors just don't seem right. Maybe it is too much saturation? I see a lot of people's photography and the color looks so perfect and similar to real life. I am having a hard time getting that effect. Maybe it's more advanced photoshop skills??

Excuse my lack of knowledge, lol, but how do I post it with EXIF data?
Two things - one, make sure you aren't stripping the exif when you edit (check your settings on whatever program you use). Two, on Flickr, you have the option to hide exif data from the public - make sure that option is not turned on.

The WB seems close enough to me on this shot. It might be a little off, but it doesn't scream 'wrong WB'. To me, if it is off, it looks more like a 'creative decision' than an error.

Convert the color profile to sRGB
then save as jpg

Saving for web does the conversion but strips out the EXIF.
The two steps above will give a picture in the proper color profile and with the exif intact.

I think the WB is fine, image just oversaturated.