Why can't I get my Panasonic DMC-FZ47 to take sharp photos?

lhousesoccer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Last Christmas (2011) I "upgraded" my old Panasonic Lumix DMC-F5 to my current Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ47. I'm not a professional photographer. I'm a point-and-shoot kind of guy that likes to mess a little with manual settings. I liked the FZ47 because it gave you both options, and seemed to have a good suite of scene modes, plus their "Intelligent Auto" setting, which is supposed to figure things out for you. I'm about 50-50 hit and miss with getting decent quality photos. For the life of me, I can't figure out why certain shots just don't look crisp and sharp, and the colors, especially blacks, look grainy. I'm ready to sell the thing and get another camera, but first I thought I'd poke around a bit and see if there's maybe something I'm doing wrong. I don't know what it could be, since usually I use the automatic settings, like "indoor portrait", or "sports".

Below are some shots I took this weekend at my son's hockey game. I'm disappointed with the quality of the photos. The camera got good reviews, so I expected better results. One thing I've noticed is that if I use the flash, the photos look sharper, but it also looks washed out sometimes. I shouldn't have to use the flash constantly, just to get crisp photos.

Take a look at the shots below and look at the graininess in the black of the hockey jerseys and other dark colors. Any tips would really be helpful. Is it me or is it the camera? I never seemed to have this problem with my old Panasonic DMC-F5.

P1050060.jpg

P1050062.jpg

P1050009.jpg

P1050063.jpg

P1050064.jpg

The 'grain' in the black is digital noise, the result of using higher ISOs in low-end sensors.

As for the blurryness, that might be a backfocus issue, or even a dirty lens.