Wide angle converter

BEEF

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First of all, yes I am a Newbie to this forum. I have a Nikon D5000 and use a afs 18-200 pretty much for every day stuff. I was conned into buying this Digital Advance wide converter w/Macro.48x 72. It screws on my to my 18-200. The problem is every time I use it, it gives this ring around the outside edges of all my shots. How do I correct this?

Can you post an example picture of the ring? Do you notice if the ring only occurs at low focal length?

1) do not use it.
2) see if it will work with longer focal length settings.

The issue with #2 is that the widening effect at longer focal length settings on the zoom will definitely be inferior optically to what can be had without the converter on, and second, the wideness of the view at a longer focal length will probably be matchable with the converter thrown in the rubbish bin, and the lens set to a short length.

It's possible that you might find a few creative, gimmicky, FUN-TYPE uses for this device...once in a great while. But for normal use, these things are just an accessory kit padding device, used mostly in "package deals" put together by borderline (sketchy) dealers

Correct it by purchasing a real lens and use the adapter as a paperweight or doorstop.

Thanks Sparky but I really was more into getting answers. Not all of us have your money to spend.

Once again, can we see an example of the ring? Also - do you only notice it in the lower focal ranges (like the 18mm).

I'm wondering what it might look like fitted to a smaller-diameter lens, using a step-ring. Not everything is always about ultra-high optical quality. It might look acceptable on something smaller-fronted, with a 52 or 55 or 58mm front thread. Fotodiox, or e-Bay, have lots of step rings available cheaply.